Cart 0

Missouri Police Patches

Missouri was the 24th state in the USA; it became a state on August 10, 1821. - State Capital is Jefferson City. - Nickname is The Show Me State. - The flag has a red, white, and blue background (representing Missouri's French heritage; it was part of the Louisiana Purchase from France). The circular center is surrounded by 24 white stars (the number of states when Missouri entered the Union). Two grizzly bears represent bravery and strength. A knight's helmet and another 24 stars are above the bears. The motto, "UNITED WE STAND, DIVIDED WE FALL" is around the inner circle. The motto, "SALUS POPULI SUPREMA LEX ESTA" (meaning "Let the welfare of the people be the supreme law") is on a yellow ribbon under the bears. The inner circle has an eagle holding the olive branch of peace and the arrows of war (representing the federal government), a crescent moon, and another grizzly bear. The Roman numeral MDCCCXX is under the two bears (1820 was the date of the Missouri Compromise).